European Space Agency’s Rosetta Makes Historic First Landing on a Comet

By NASA On Wednesday, Nov. 12, the European Space Agency’s Rosetta mission successfully landed on the surface of comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Descending at a speed of about 2 mph (3.2 kilometers per hour) the lander, called “Philae,” first touched down and its signal was received at 8:03 a.m. PST (11:03 a.m. EST). Partially due to anchoring harpoons not firing, and the comet’s low gravity (a hundred-thousand times less than that of Earth), Philae bounced off the surface and flew up to about six-tenths of a mile (1 kilometer) both above the comet’s surface as well as downrange. At 9:53 a.m. PST (12:53 p.m. EST), almost two hours after first contact, Philae again touched down. A second, more modest bounce resulted, again sending it airborne. Philae’s third contact with the comet’s nucleus was the charm. At 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST), the Rosetta mission’s Philae lander became the first spacecraft to soft-land on a comet. …read more

Source:: Environmental News:

from Dave Pflieger Environment http://ift.tt/1H9qjJL

Advertisements

Author: David Pflieger

David Pflieger is working as the CEO of Island Air, located in Hawaii. David received his pilot training in the United States Air Force, and has since held multiple positions with different airlines, for over 20 years!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s